Skidoo running rough

rknight111

Administrator
Administrator
Reaction score
Website
www.snowandmud.com
I have a 2005 SummitX 800, It started running rough on our last local ride. It wont Idle very well it pops and bangs. At idle the tach reads nothing. The trouble light is on too. I went threw all the wiring. Checked the grounds. Checked the spark and cleaned the plugs. Its also hard to start. Is there sensors that I should check that may be faulty. Help!! Im going to the mountains on Friday??

RON:(

catmando

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Well I'm no mechanic Ron but you could always trade it in on a cat..LOL!
catmando!
Sorry buddy,I couldn't resist!LMAO!
:PDT_kap:

snochuk

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Are you heading south or north to ride? Call dealer and see what they say, could be the beginning of the end of your stator.

• Admin

rknight111

Administrator
Administrator
Reaction score
Website
www.snowandmud.com
Here is a video of whats happening.. Its fine once it gets above 2000 rpm but under watch the tack and lights on the tack. Its still running but rough. Also hard to start.

I was going to change the plug wires first thing.. The stator, hmmm. Big job??

RON

snochuk

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Do you have a second DESS key as mine did the same thing when Riverside made my second key on my MXZ. Had to take sled back to get second key redone. Stator not a big job just not cheap for parts. Call riverside in the morning if key change doesn't work.

• Admin

rknight111

Administrator
Administrator
Reaction score
Website
www.snowandmud.com
The Dess key, it beeps funny when that is not working. In the skidoo manual it points to the stator. It doesnt talk about changing it. I will start tommorow with the spark plug wires. I dont think theres a great spark, then go from there. Its quite hard to start even when warm..
See the video whats happining with the tach...

RON :crying3:

Summiteer

Active VIP Member
Reaction score