backfired now wont start

Marmot MB

Reaction score
Hi all, I am really hoping someone can help.

2008 Cat M8 162 track, 974 km, electric reverse, fox shocks, mbrp can, speedo is malfunctioned, the digital display only shows ododmeter and two buttons don't do anything ( have read that is common on 08 due to crappy factory seals)

I have owned this sled for a few weeks and have started it about 10 times to show to friends, take it for one ride. Always it started on second or third pull

Friday I started the sled the load it, -20 something out, stored in garage unheated. as usual it started on third pull. sat and idle albeit a bit bobbly but it was cold out. about 2 minutes later it bobbled a few times then backfired then quit.

Now I knew it was low on gas, but didn't realize how low, I realized it was out of gas by the fuel gauge. so I went and got new fuel and filled it. then proceeded to pull and pull and pull no fire.

now I am a great motorcycle mechanic but now zero about sleds, so thinking it was fuel injected I did what I would do with a car, put thorttle down and don't move it.

so I used a piece of string tied the thorttle wide open, thinking I had run the fuel lines dry and needed to get fuel through. well after about 8 pulls BANG a huge back fire.... okay maybe not a great idea, too the string off.

I then pulled about 100 times no fire at all, not even trying.

So I pulled a plug found it wet and black.... thinking plugs may be fouled I changed them, used a lighter to ignite any gas in cylinder heads, sure enough whoosh a pop of flame then burned itself out. then left it open for about 10 minutes to air out.

checked gap on new plugs and installed brand new.

put exhaust back on and tried to fire. first pull it actually seemed liked it might, but no.... every once in about 10 pulls the cord pulled easier and seemed like it tried a bit but still no.