Summit Sport 800 P-Tek questions / dealer recommendations

0neoldfart

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
With the winter season approaching, I have decided to purchase a new sled as a backup / kids loaner sled. I've been looking at the 2014 Summit Sport 800R (Power-Tek). I've had a lot of experience with the older Doo 800's (including HO models), but never spent any time on the P-tek, or on the XP chassis. I know everyone will suggest upgrading to the e-tech, but it simply isn't in the cards. For those that have owned this motor, did you find it reliable? Any known issues with it in recent years? If it's been bulletproof (or if you've had a failure), what kind of mileage did you get before failure? What did you like / dislike about the machine? Lastly, can you recommend a good dealer in central Alberta? What makes the recommended dealer better then the others? I've got a great cat and poo dealer now, but my doo dealer folded a few years ago - part of the reason I'm not riding a doo. Thanks for your time.

tex78

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
My 10 has been good as far as engine wise.

Trying to get it to handle ect has Been crappy.

Did a few mods to get it where it is.

sent from A UNKNOWN PLACE IN TEA LAND

tex78

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
How many top ends tho max ??

Think I should pack the PTO bearings , start to think about doing a cheap topend before its a expensive one. It's got good compresion still.

Think I'm at 2000 miles or 3000 km

neilsleder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I had 4200km on my 2009 summit and it still pulled like a train! like all doo's the clutchs need tlc often but other then that they are good! cant wait to be back on one again! As for a dealer no question give T-Team a shout at Martins south side!

Calg_Rider

Active VIP Member
Reaction score