New to Jet boating

channonmanuel

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
So I am new to jet boating, not new to boating we have had boats my whole life. been out with a few buddies over the years on the clearwater and athabasca. Got a deal on a jet boat so I bought it, I am planning on running it mainly on the nsr from Devon. I bought a custom weld storm 21' with a .190 bottom I am told by some people that this is to thin for alberta and some say this is fine. I'm going to put uhmw on it hopefully by the middle of summer. I plan on using it quite a bit for hunting and camping, and just crushing, if there's anyone that needs a tag along on the river one day let me know it would be nice to maybe have someone show me some tricks about river boating so I don't find them the hard way lol. Also my boat doesn't have a stomp grate, should I install one before I use it around here?

Chrisco

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Yes you have to install a stomp grate for sure!!!! I just did mine on sat, I also have a storm and talked to you on another forum. Give me a call at the shop anytime 780-963-0080 Chris.

channonmanuel

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Who's stomp gate did you order? I found a few different ones online, ill order one this week I have been down by the river checking it out its all broke now and I'm hoping I can try my boat next weekend if the Devon launch is cleared I was down there today and its piled with ice. Haha the thought of bringing my skid steer down there and clearing it crossed my mind

J-Roc

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the river! I agonized for nine years about buying a boat. Wasn't sure what I wanted, etc. In the end I got a great deal on exactly the opposite of what I thought Iwanted . Came to an important conclusion. It doesn't matter WHAT you're on the river with. It matters THAT you're on the river.