Backcountry or Freeride ?

puddle

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I would like to spring check a Backcountry or a Freeride and could use some advice.
90% of my riding is every weekend around Buck Lake. I've got a lake property. There is always a couple of feet of snow in the area, every year. I would like to further extend my riding to the mountains and play in the pow a few times a season -not into high marking.... yet.
I was willing to get into the Backcountry, but now considering options.
Is the Freeride's 2 1/4" track too aggressive for rough trail? Is the 154 too long for trail riding? Should I compromise on a 146?
I've got 3 years or so of experience. Last couple of years on a 09 Nytro xtx. It's time to drop 100 lbs and learn how to play with a 800 e-tech.
Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

Should I consider a Summit and forget the Freeride? Like I mentioned, I want to play on and off trails more than hill climb

btcowboy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I would go with the freeride, and 154......I ride 154 summit and have ridden the flatland and no issues thus far.....You wont like the backcountry in the mountains

dbar7

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Dont bash the backcountry in the mountains thats forsure... I have a 2010 renegade backcountry x last year I took it to the mountains on 4 trips did great then i could still have a sled for back home in sask. I moved to bc this year so i extended to a 146 x 2.25.... Does great im gonna be snow checking a free ride 146 2.5 so i can get the best of both worlds..

magnet

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
never rode a free ride but i know the back country is super nice ride, if most riding is the flats i would go with the backcountry jmo.

Oilboy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score