509 Carbon Helmet

Dawizman

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Those of you that have this helmet, would you buy it again? Is it worth it over the standard Altitude? I left my old helmet too close to a heater, and it melted, so I'm going to buy a new helmet tomorrow, and am leaning towards this one. I really like the reduction in weight. Anything I can do to shave weight on my head is a bonus.

I ran the Altitude for the last 4 seasons, and its been great. Zero complaints. I'm just wondering if they are still decent, and if the carbon is worth the extra money over the standard helmet?

Last edited:

adamg

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I've been running an Altitude for a couple years. This fall I bought a 509 Carbon. I mainly wanted the quick buckle, as I'm really slow at buckling the old fashioned way and usually end up leaving it undone rather than getting left behind on the hill. The buckle seems pretty sweet, but I haven't used it on the hill yet. So far I am happy with it.

snochuk

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Those of you that have this helmet, would you buy it again? Is it worth it over the standard Altitude? I left my old helmet too close to a heater, and it melted, so I'm going to buy a new helmet tomorrow, and am leaning towards this one.

I ran the Altitude for the last 4 seasons, and its been great. Zero complaints. I'm just wondering if they are still decent, and if the carbon is worth the extra money over the standard helmet?

I have the carbon and my daughter has the Altitude.
For the price and weight difference I would get the Altitude.
Don't have the specs but I swear they are the same weight or cabin even heavier.
Goggles fit good and both are good lids IMO.
I much prefer the ckx I have now over either of the 509.

Dawizman

Active VIP Member
Reaction score