oil pump

wildman

Reaction score
just got new 15 rmk. wondering if I should get the oil turned up . also gonna take the electric start off if anyone is interested.

Jeffpro800

Reaction score
3 turns is good if your not running a vented cap, if you are than you may have to go 2 turns or less, anyway calculate your fuel/oil ratio over a tank or two and stay somewhere around 30-1, 40-1. One ounce oil per gallon fuel in the tank is also a good idea. More advantages than disadvantages to running a bit rich on oil so crank it up, unless your 20-1 I wouldn't worry about fouling plugs too much.

orangemaddness

Reaction score
hey guys my dealer does not turn up the oil pump on their sleds but as I read this thread I can't help but think it can't hurt. Now I know the basics on these sleds but I'm no mechanic. Is this something I can tackle myself. I would appreciate any suggestions and tips you guys can give.

trench

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
hey guys my dealer does not turn up the oil pump on their sleds but as I read this thread I can't help but think it can't hurt. Now I know the basics on these sleds but I'm no mechanic. Is this something I can tackle myself. I would appreciate any suggestions and tips you guys can give.

Some guys have done it using a long reach and swivel to loosen the bolt to make the adjustment, but i'ts not hard to dissasemble the sled to get better access to the throttle bodies. Remove the hood , side panels, seat, tank and air box and your good to go, sounds like a lot but very easy to do on the Pro.

Danbot

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I had my pump turned up inside of 10 minutes. All I removed was the hood.
However you do it.... be sure to brace the bracket as you break the lock nut loose. Otherwise it's possible to bend the bracket and cause problems.

trench

Active VIP Member
Reaction score