Can someone help a girl out? 96 Polaris Sportsman 500 4x4

jmoran99

Reaction score
Hi, gang! Newbie here :) I have a 1996 Polaris Sportsman 500 2x2 with 1500 miles on it. A good running quad. Went to ride it Friday night, started first shot (after sitting a few weeks) and ran fine. Came back, parked it, and the next morning it would NOT start!

Plug is getting spark, it's cranking, but not turning over... not even starting with a shot of ether..

Any suggestions? Ideas? Your help is appreciated. Thanks so much!

ttpowersports

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hi, gang! Newbie here :) I have a 1996 Polaris Sportsman 500 2x2 with 1500 miles on it. A good running quad. Went to ride it Friday night, started first shot (after sitting a few weeks) and ran fine. Came back, parked it, and the next morning it would NOT start!

Plug is getting spark, it's cranking, but not turning over... not even starting with a shot of ether..

welcome aboard... and have fun.. T&T Power Sports and Crew
all S&M members get 15% off any accessories/parts sales.. and yes we ship

spuds

Active VIP Member
Reaction score

did you pull the plug? was it wet? pull your air filter and see if your intake is wet if so shut the fuel off and let it sit for an hr or use other methods to dry it out then try restarting without the choke once it's running don't forget to turn on the fuel

jmoran99

Reaction score
Spuds, we pulled the plug and replaced it.. nothing was wet.. fuel is on.. it will crank all day, just won't turn over.. and like I said in my original post, not even a shot of ether is getting this thing started...

fat tire

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Spuds, we pulled the plug and replaced it.. nothing was wet.. fuel is on.. it will crank all day, just won't turn over.. and like I said in my original post, not even a shot of ether is getting this thing started...
Yeah starter is not engaged........sorry it's a poo poo.

spuds

Active VIP Member
Reaction score