asbestos removal

Haggis

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Ok - have watched enough Holmes on Holmes to know the proper way to remove asbestos in a home but what if you only have a little bit to remove?

I have this 1930 house that has an asbestos collar where a single walled hot water tank flue passes from the crawl space through the floor and then again through the ceiling. The asbestos is maybe 12 inches in height and enough width to wrap the pipe. There is one paper piece where it goes through the floor and one through the ceiling. Ideally I would just leave it but I want to box in this unsighlty pipe so I have to replace with a double walled pipe which means removing the asbestos before taking out the old pipe........if i simply soak the asbestos paper before removing and wear a mask can I avoid calling in the abatement crew???? I don't want to make light of this but it is a very small amount.

jncmcat

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Haggis, I am a contractor and I find that sort of situation often in those old homes, soak the insulation good and take it down trying to make as little dust as possible, go slow if your not sure. Of course wear the mask(cannister type is best) place it in plastic bags and dispose of it properly. If you have to poly off the area while you remove the insulation. Good luck

Bogger

Bogger of the GBCA
Reaction score
small job pretty straight forward... biggest concern is your own safety. Water is your freind, wetter water (encapsulent) is better, not sure where to get it but I'm sure Acklands could point you in the right direction.
get a pair of white disposable coveralls and a 1/2 mask respirator with P100 hepa filters, wet down the asbestos, remove any furniture ect. from the area and as stated above bag and dispose of properly.

Helpful link.

Prep Work For Removing Asbestos - Asbestos-Abatement.com

Modman

Active VIP Member
Reaction score