Transceivers

summit88

Reaction score
hey everyone, since i am fairly new to mountain riding i have always just borrowed an avalanche beacon from friends that i was riding with at the time. this year i am looking to buy my own. any suggestions on brand names or models that i should look at?

buck50

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
most are pretty good now, but be sure to get a digital one!!!!!!!!! tracker, piepes, barryvox

OVERKILL 19

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
We as a group all bought PIEPs. They are user friendly but not that they are any better,its just we all have the same so we all learn the same...make sense. Most beacons act diferently have different options. Best thing you can do is know your beacon. I use a SOS it takes me forever, just cause I'm not used to how it works, but in the hands of someone who knows how, they are a great beacon and cheaper. We chose the PIEPs because of the compass and altimiter and simple to use, 2 less things to carry. My 10 cents

chucker

Reaction score
The group I ride with all bought Pieps DPS. I agree, I don't think its any better than any other brand but it is easy to use and it does multiple burials. It is important to practise with these things.

catmando

Super Moderator
Reaction score
I use pieps as well and the one nice thing about them is if you take it to the sled show every year they will download any upgrades that pieps comes out with at the Peips booth.I have had mine upgraded twice since I bought it and it still had all the up to date technology!
I dont know if the others do that,but when I bought mine they didnt!
catmando!

buck50

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The group I ride with all bought Pieps DPS. I agree, I don't think its any better than any other brand but it is easy to use and it does multiple burials. It is important to practise with these things.