RCMP out in full force this weekend in Golden

Keeperswilly

Reaction score
Just got back from a trip to Golden. I've been riding there since 2006 and never been pulled over in that area until this weekend. And after it I have now been pulled over or checked out 4 times. First was on fri around 11am right after we arrived in town, and grabbed fuel to head out to Silent Pass. Ran vin's on sleds, measured taillights to sled overhang, all good. Asked if we had avy gear and knew how to use it, was great I thought that he asked that with all the uneducated users heading out in the backcountry these days and I told him that. Next time pulled over was at stop check in town when we got back that night around 6pm. Other cars and trucks waved through, my buddies truck with deck and sleds pulled in, and breathalysed. All good. A couple other cars waved through. I get pulled in, and also breathalysed, all good again. Next time pulled over was the next night around 630pm heading down hill on highway from cabin up to ski hill for supper. Pulled over right on hill with no shoulder, which I thought was kind of unsafe. Checked again, measured taillights to sleds which was good again. And warned me that the cops had brought in a bunch of extra members, and were targeting sledders this weekend because they tend to drink and sled. The next was about 5 minutes later, at the bottom of the ski hill road. Yet another stop check, buddies ahead had dropped 4 place at the cabin and just had pickup. Asked what they were up to and told to move along. I get pulled in and checked out all over yet again as other non-sledders were waved through, all good again and told to carry on.