How many KM's is too much on a used diesel

SIRsleeper

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
So I've decided that it might be time to upgrade from my gas job f150 and am looking at some diesels in the under 10 000 price range, how many Km's is too much in your opinion? I'm leaning towards a 2000ish 3/4 with a cummins. back when I was an automotive tech I remember seeing an f350 7.3 with 950 000 hot shot truck and the guy was still running the original motor (couple injector swaps later of course) experiences? Major red flags? One I am interested is a one owner with full service documentation and about 400 000k on the cummins. I'd like to stay away from the super dutys due to the horrendous maintenance costs associated with them even though I love the trucks.

mareshow

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Thats a loaded question my friend. All depends on the mods and how it was driven. If you can find a dodge 5.9 with 220,000 ish km that was driven stock then that motor should run you a good long time. If its modded out, then its a flip of a coin. I sold my 5.9 with 300,000 km and it had lots of life left so...

SIRsleeper

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I want something bone stock. That's something I will stick to with my vehicles, even an exhaust tells me it's been driven like it was stolen at some point (I know because I was once young with a loud exhaust lol)

250mark1

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
if looking at older stock trucks i would be more conceared with the transmision and front ends than the engine it self
the diesel engines are built tough for 500 000 + km the trucks wrapped around the motor not so much

Lococoin

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I want something bone stock. That's something I will stick to with my vehicles, even an exhaust tells me it's been driven like it was stolen at some point (I know because I was once young with a loud exhaust lol)