Ethanol Killing small engines?

Hillbilly64

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
First off let me say I am no mechanic but here are some things I have been told about ethanol in gas.

My story dates back to last year when I needed to take my snowmobile into a dealer because it would not run properly.
When I picked it up, I was told the problem was a build up of mould in the carburetors caused by ethanol in the gas. The repair costs were over 300$. I asked the dealer how many machines they had repaired with similar problems, the reply was over 30. That is just one dealer!
Later last spring my son was operating his snow machine when there was an engine failure.
I picked up the machine from the repair facility this past weekend. Repair bill cost? 2250.67$
Reason for engine failure? Ethanol in the gas had separated, this caused the engine to " lean out" since there is no lubrication of any type in straight ethanol, the engine piston became damaged. The engine cylinder and head were also damaged beyond repair.
The repair man told me that just in his shop alone, he has several snowmobiles, quads, chainsaws and boat engines all damaged due to ethanol issues.
No one is being told of this problem and most dealers will not warranty engines the "detonate" as they put it.
This is a catch all phrase for a motor that blows up for no apparent reason, the reason is becoming clear. Ethanol in gasoline is causing hundreds of thousands of dollars in repair costs for consumers with no explanation as to why these failures are occurring.
The parts dealers must be laughing at us... They are making a fortune off of this and the consumer is none the wiser.
A few enquiries on my own have shown that just a few locale dealers and repair facilities in my area have repaired well over a hundred small engine machines in the last year and a half.
Someone needs to make the public aware of this issue.