Pulling a travel trailer with sled on deck. Advice needed.

Kelso

Reaction score
Hello,
I have been doing a ton of reading and figured I'd post up my situation and hopefully some of you with more experience can point me in the right direction as I am relatively new to the sledding world. I have an F350 short box with a 7' sled deck and a 30' travel trailer. The deck stays on my truck full time, double duty as a functional tonneau cover/flat bed as truck is also used for work. I have minimal overhang and no clearance issues with sides in, however I am afraid to tow it with the sides out in fear of contacting the trailer while turning. Of greater concern, since we only have 1 sled for now, is the clearance of the sled track. I haven't had time to actually try towing with it yet but I backed up to the trailer with my sled and it looks like the 144 track will just clear the trailer but just barely sit above the propane tanks. I would imagine any dip would cause contact...
And that's without a spring-over (axle flip) on the trailer.

I am aware of the proper/expensive hitch systems that can safely use the extension, but that is a lot of money to replace a perfectly good classIV hitch. Otherwise the extensions seem to drop the weight rating too low for my trailer at ~7000lb.

I'm curious about lifting up the back end of the sled and setting the track on a block of 4x4 or 6x6 to get more clearance from the LP tanks. Would I need to use plywood or boards legthwise to distribute weight or prevent track damage? It only has about 6" of contact on the deck anyways. I wonder if I could secure it all well enough?
Does anyone have any other ideas?
Would a 2' extension allow me to pull the sides out without contacting during a turn if I coughed up the money for one of those systems? I imagine flirting with the gvwr and using a long extension would not make towing through the mountains in the snow any easier.