Loosing Boost?

162 Wizzy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Calling all Turbo experts.
I run a 2008 Nytro with a MCX 270 rear mount kit. I was running in Chappel yesterday. Running like a champ then it started to fall on its face. When i wicked the throttle the boost would momentarily spike up then drop to zero.
Once again from a dead stop on the lake it would stand up then just as fast fall off.
Other than the boost issue i ran it outta there no problem. I'm no mechanic but i assume the intercooler has somehow become detached or i have a hose cut or leaking.
Anyone have any idea what else it would be or am i on the right track here. Looks like a fairly big job to rip all that out of there. Might be a job for the ticketed guys.

SLY

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Sounds like a leak to me, a pretty big one. had you had previos issies with losing boost?

162 Wizzy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
This sled has never even so much as hickuped. Nothing visible. Intercooler seems to be solid so I'm guessing something has come off the back side.

mclean

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
spray soapy water on the boots (the rubber peices that connected the piping to the intercooler)...or spray soapy water on all the connections i suppose, watch for bubbles

MRFUSION

Reaction score
Seen this before with customers, unplug the wires to the aux injectors in the intercooler and try it. I have had control box issues where the wires plug into the box or come apart at the plug. Check all boost lines and wiring, intercooler boots and then maybe send out the control box. Shad

overkill131313

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I have a problem with loosing boost at 7000 feet......I can get 15 PSI but at around 5000 and down I can make 25 PSI.......yes I know that is to much lol.......I turn my adjustable boost controller right out when up top but then I have to close it when going down the hill or I get 25 PSI........I used to get 18 PSI up top??????? WTF? what do I look for?