Looking at aftermarket clutching for M8... Opinions wanted

Bails

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Just like the title says, I am looking at upgrading my clutching on my 2007 M8 (1700 miles). I'm looking at trying to get some better bottom end, without sacrificing top end too much. I looked into the Rk Tek diamond drive clutch kit, and it sounds like its what I need, but I'm looking for some opinions on this kit or other kits out there.

I live in Saskatchewan, and just swap out my weights when heading west. Is this still possible to do, or are there other options? Basically I'm a clutching rookie and I am looking for advice.

css

Reaction score
Call Steve at MDS 1-509-899-0605, I talked to him today and he was a big help and has a set up that allows you to leave the same weights in and just change primary spring. I cant wait to try it.

0neoldfart

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Call Steve at MDS 1-509-899-0605, I talked to him today and he was a big help and has a set up that allows you to leave the same weights in and just change primary spring. I cant wait to try it.[/QUOT
You will need a set of ajustable weights, whether you use cutler, MDS, or daltons. I do not recommend changing the primary spring - I suspect the vendor above is using a higher finish rate for the mountains, which will make it reach peak rpm, but will not be ideally clutched. My recommendation is this: Purchase a torsional secondary kit, load as much weight as possible into the flyweights that will allow it to upshift and backshift properly and hold rpm. Do NOT fall into the trap of chasing a certain RPM, as factory tachometers can be out +/- 250 RPM. Clutch by "feel" and you will be a much happier sledder. Also very important to make sure the clutches are clean and in good working order, and start with a new belt. If you take a bit of time, you will have a clutching system that works for YOU, as opposed to buying a generic "kit" which may or may not work as well.

HiLlClImB911