Hobby welder

armascott

Armaguard
Reaction score
Looking for suggestions on a welder I have very little welding experience and it’s been a long time since I have tried. I’m looking at purchasing a welder for small projects etc I would like it to have a 110 plug so I can use at the cabin a well.

What a good entry level easy to use machine?

Cyle

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I have this one from Canadian Tire and i'm impressed with how well it welds, need 20 amp breaker if turning it up but it'll weld 1/4" no problem at all. When it's on sale it's like $250. Princess auto also has similar ones. It's not going to weld really heavy stuff but it's great for little repairs.

Frosty19

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Not to hijack thread but a piggyback- any took suggestions to go along with hobby fabricating?

Tchetek

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Looking for suggestions on a welder I have very little welding experience and it’s been a long time since I have tried. I’m looking at purchasing a welder for small projects etc I would like it to have a 110 plug so I can use at the cabin a well.

I had the one larger than ricki bobby suggested below from CT (Easy mig 180). Goes on sale for about $600 or so.

It worked great for steel. It just took a bit of time to figure out what wire speed setting work best for each heat setting. Those units just have 5 fixed setting, not a fully variable potentiometer. This was a bigger issue when I started to try aluminum with a spool gun.

Regardless. Get a tank of gas and they work so much better than using the shielded wire.

Since then I have upgraded to a Miller multimatic 220. It’s awsome as it does everything with one machine. But you can get 2 separate mig and tug machines for less cash. The 220 was a fair bit cheaper when I got it then it is now.

Last edited:

MP Kid

Active VIP Member
Reaction score

What do you plan to use it for?
That could determine what you need to buy…

Merc63

Active VIP Member
Reaction score