Big Horn Dam to Ram Falls

Patrick1

Reaction score
Hello everyone I'm new to quading and this forum.
Hope this is the right area for my question.
So I live in Nordegg and have recently bought a Polaris Ranger and am interested in trying the trail that goes from the Big Horn Dam to the Ram river.
I think its called Almeyer trail (not sure). Just wondering about skill level and how long I should budget for it. Like I said I'm pretty green.
I would be taking the trail in a Polaris Ranger, and my buddy has a KTM. think we will run into any problems? Thanks for the help guys.

Safari Guy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.wildkakwasafari.com
I beleive you are talking about the Alymer/Smallpox trail that goes to the North Ram??? There are some steep parts getting closer to the river, to the Falls??? am not sure about that??? tons of trails, but the falls are in a Park,,,,,,,, whay not just do the bighorn loop if you are new to this,,,,,, the bigger loop is a day trip anyway.

rubirose

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
The easiest way is the Joyce Creek trail to the trunk road, than south to the horse riding ranch, turn right and follow roadway until it ends and you than have to cross Ram river a few times. When you come to a clearing watch for a trail to the right through the grass. This is now the tricky part of the trail, if I remember there are 3 steep rutted out hills that will take you back to the clearing where Joyce creek trail begins. These 3 hills are not for beginners. Just a warning. The other trails are easier. You can also go north of the highway, trails there are easier and you can also go t o the Crescent Falls.

rubirose

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Hello everyone I'm new to quading and this forum.
Hope this is the right area for my question.
So I live in Nordegg and have recently bought a Polaris Ranger and am interested in trying the trail that goes from the Big Horn Dam to the Ram river.