Sled won't go in deep snow????

Joelk

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to sledding, just got my sleds last summer.

We go about 20" of snow last night and I tried to go for a ride on my 2001 Polaris XC 800 SP today. Got stuck several times barely got it unstuck a couple times.

It has nearly new 1.25" track, and I was expecting it to go just fine. Was quite disappointed with how poorly it went. If I got up some speed it would sort of "plane out" but if I slowed down it would start to sink and plow snow.

How do people go sledding when there is a 10' base? I know the Mountain Sleds have a longer track, but I thought that just made them go better. I did not think it was required, just to be able to move.

Is this how a short track sled always performs in deep powder.

Anything I can do (other than a different/longer track) to the sled to make it go better in the deep powder?

My skis are stock and pretty well worn, so I may be replacing them soon. Would different (wider) skis make a significant difference? If so, what would be a good set of skis to consider?

Wingwalker

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I had a similar experience hit a field with 2ft of powder and made the mistake of slowing down could barely do 40mph with my skis pointing at the sky all the way through the field.
Yes the long tracks have more flotation and a deeper lug but they are also geared lower
I'm thinking of long tacking mine as I tend to ride more in the fields than on trails

Last edited:

polarice

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to sledding, just got my sleds last summer.

We go about 20" of snow last night and I tried to go for a ride on my 2001 Polaris XC 800 SP today. Got stuck several times barely got it unstuck a couple times.

It has nearly new 1.25" track, and I was expecting it to go just fine. Was quite disappointed with how poorly it went. If I got up some speed it would sort of "plane out" but if I slowed down it would start to sink and plow snow.