Sidewinder belt drive question

Lund

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
IMG_3878[1].JPG
So I'm new to the belt drive, I have about 200km on it now. You guys that have been running this since last season are you seeing similar pattern on the back side of the belt, is this considered normal?

Attachments

• IMG_3878[1].JPG
    IMG_3878[1].JPG
    215.4 KB · Views: 90

M1ryguy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
No, looks like you are maybe rubbing on something? Met up with a polaris boost on the hill a couple weeks ago and he had the same wear on his belt, we found a bolt that came loose and was sitting in the bottom of his belly pan rubbing the back side of the belt, maybe have a look as there isn't a lot of clearance under there.

M1ryguy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Actually I just went and looked and mine looks the exact same lol about 800kms on mine

Attachments

• 3629AB39-B667-4830-A3E4-CEE365FAD284.jpeg
    3629AB39-B667-4830-A3E4-CEE365FAD284.jpeg
    351.2 KB · Views: 113

Lund

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
image.jpg
Here is mine with lettering, so I taking this as normal. Its the tension idlers causing this.
Have you ever had issues with snow/ice getting in there and causing problem?
I seem to get a lot of ice in there but so far no issues.

Last edited:

Lunch_Box

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Its normal to look like that. But I will say after tearing 2 belts in about 1500kms you need to check your tension when everything is warmed up. I talked to the guys at Specialty and they said the tension they put in their instructions is just a starting point and that once everything is warmed up the and gears expanded that you should have between 1/8"-3/16" belt deflection.

Lunch_Box

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
View attachment 265739
Here is mine with lettering, so I taking this as normal. Its the tension idlers causing this.
Have you ever had issues with snow/ice getting in there and causing problem?