Looking For Advice from Novice / Expert Back Country Riders on Steep Downhills

Maverick800XRS

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I'm not new to dirt bikes but I am very new to back country riding on one. I am an avid snowmobiler in the winter and I usually ride track in the summer (but not very much "I'm ok").

I am riding a 2000 WR400F

Just after the May long weekend I was out in koocanusa with some buddies and I brought my bike along; before this trip I had only ever ridden my bike in the back country once and it wasn't very involved. We had a blast and it was a very successful weekend without anyone getting injured. While I was there I encountered some pretty intense back country riding at least to my eyes. Let me say that hill climbing on a bike is NOTHING like sledding... and coming back down... OMG... This is where my question lies.

With sledding I am used to "ALWAYS" having some sort of braking while going down hills by using the engine to brake or when things get out of control being able to dig a ski in but these options are either limited or non existent on a bike.