Dirt Bike

the Champ

Reaction score
I am looking to buy a bike this year. I have no 2wheeler experience yet but a couple of my buddies have one and I would like to check it out. I woud like to hear some of you guy's opinions on the different bikes out there, 2 stroke or 4 stroke, engine sizes, brand of bike, etc. Any opinion or feedback would definetly help me out on my decision.

Slamnek

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I ride a Honda CR250 and love it. There is nothin like the sound and crazy power band like a 2 stroke. The 4 strokes are nice and some what more reliable. I would recomend a 250 4 stroke for your first bike as they have lots of power but not quite as crazy as a 450 thumper. One the other hand, you can pick up a really nice 250 two stroke for $4000.

teamgreen

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I have a KX 250 and love the bike. I also am friends with 5 other guys that have similar bikes(most of theirs are newer :mad: ) We have had nothing but sucess with these bikes and would highly recomend them. I have been on a 4 stroke but didnt really like it, maybe because the powerband is different. The only thing I can recommend is to buy a bike for your riding style, if you are riding all trails a trail bike will be great( bigger gas tank, lower first gear) or if you ride track buy a motocross bike. I wish I had a trail bike for some of the trails I ride because the gas tank is just not quite big enough in my mx bike to go as far into the bush as possible.