800 CFI Piston Check

Mikew5j

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I need some opinions on how my sleds pistons look, as I’m not an expert. It’s been about 750 km (450 mi) since my 09 800 RMK had the piston update, and I decided to check how things were going. Most of the mileage was put on in the mountains. I always wait until the heat exchangers are warm to the touch before I start riding. I’ve never seen any temperature spikes or engine lights. I’m running a SLP pipe, intake and clutching.

MAG
MAG1.jpg

MAG2.jpg

PTO
PTO1.jpg

PTO2.jpg

PTO3.jpg

Mikew5j

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
It has been running good in the mountains, but something seemed a bit off when I was riding around home last weekend. I haven’t been riding around home a much, so it may be that my at home clutching needs adjustment. Just a bit paranoid i guess.

Sledtillded

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
It has been running good in the mountains, but something seemed a bit off when I was riding around home last weekend. I haven’t been riding around home a much, so it may be that my at home clutching needs adjustment. Just a bit paranoid i guess.

did you change the weights before you rode around town ? cuz if not That is the problem. You are out of the fuel mapping range and could det on you.

Mikew5j

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Yes, I run different clutch weights around home.

What worries me is that there are already some vertical scratches in the pistons, but maybe this is normal?

Last edited:

timbo

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
quite abit of blowbuy,650 miles on mine didn't show that when i had my exhaust valves out for cleaning.going to have cycleworks tear mine down at end of season for inspection.
warrenty is up in october so if anything wrong will take care of it then.

Mikew5j

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I guess I should show the pictures to the guys at CW and see what they say. Thanks for the comments.

Mikew5j

Active VIP Member
Reaction score