Yfz 450

irideyamaha

Reaction score
I've been looking at buying one but it seems everyone is selling them.
I need some input about them since I'm new to the whole 4 wheelin thing. Also any other suggestions would be great. I want something big that I'm gonna be able to ride for a couple years without needing a lot more power.

MATTIAC

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
the YFZ 450 is hands down one of the best sport quads ever produced. still to this day its winning shootout. yamaha builds a hard hitting engine that will leave you smiling every time you get on the throttle. the frame is tough, the components are all great and there is endless hop up opportunities available if your ever seekin a bit more. people might be selling their yfz's because the new yfz450R is another notch up with EFI and aluminum frame, real bad azz!! i would sell mine for a EFI because i hate jetting! but i have to much money into mine to get it back.. heres a few shots

rhino003.jpg

rhino004.jpg

rhino006.jpg

F1000024.jpg

ghglenn

Reaction score
If you are going newer, the EFI is sweet. If budget is tighter, try to get a 2007 or newer. Or a 2006 with "the oil mod". The motor had issues oiling the wrist-pin. Yamaha fixed it in 2007. It is fairly easy fix, but if you can just get the newer motor, already done. Intake, timing mod, and a pipe, and the YFZ rips. Throw a big bore kit on it, and you will have a hard time holding on. The suspension is the best of the stockers, but if you want to go real fast, you will eventually want to upgrade that, too. This is where the newer ones come in again...they are already longer travel...(the shocks aren't as good as after market, but are still not bad)...something to consider when looking.

quadboy55

Active VIP Member
Reaction score