Outdoor Wood Burning Furnace

winterulez

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Looking at getting one of these for the house. Just wondering if anyone has one and how they like it, and if any model is better than the others. Gonna run it for my infloor heating in the house and later on for the shop when i build one. Been looking at Friesen Heaters, Heatmore and Wooddoctor. :beer:

justalv

Reaction score
I have a outdoor wood burner and I like it alot,I've been using it for about ten years now.In the winter I can easily get a twelve hour burn even at -20 to -30.Mine goes through a heat exchanger placed where AC unit would go in my forced air electric.I never use the electric until late spring when the weather is off and on cold.I bought it in Barriere....I was built in Saskatchewan but I don't know the name of it.One thing to take in mind is how close you are to your neighbers....they might not like the smoke when you fire it up.

Stumpy

Reaction score
Re outdoor furance wood or coal ,just make sure the manufacturer is csa or ulc approved ,this is very important,as well as installation distances from home and routing of pipe underground. I'm an insurance broker and i personally have had people buy furnaces that were not certified and they couldn't get insurance on their home. There are many certified coal and wood furances choose the best option , i personally like coal burners less cleaning longer slower burn , we had one at the farm ,dont know the make as farm sold .Hope this helps !!!!

winterulez

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
No problem with the smoke and neighbours, building out on the farm it's all good.

Snowdin

Active VIP Member
Reaction score