General Dirt Bike Maintenance Questions

-LadyDirt-

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Ok i'm wondering what you all use on your chain's after washing to prevent rust? I never thought about this before, and also wondering what else you do to clean/scrub the chain?

Question # 2.. Seats - I hear that pressure washing or even applying a lot of water to the seats can soak through the covers and into the foam eventually ruining the foam making the seat uncomfortable to ride on? What are your thoughts? I have to take my bike to a car wash, I have no other way to wash it and its kinda hard to avoid getting the seat wet and how else are you suppose to clean it? Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thanks!

pancake

Reaction score
I'm new to this whole sport but I've been using my old oil and a tooth brush for my chain. I figured it can't be bad right ?

synergycycle

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I usaly put my bike on the stand, start it, and put it on first gear. I let it idle as I spray it for like 2 min with the pressure washer. once I get it home I spray some chain wax on it and it stays smooth. for the seat just wash it and spray it with armoural after.

Slamnek

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Answer 1: I use Bel ray chain lube and it seems to work good and you can get it at Canadian tire. I usually put the bike up on a stand, rotate the tire by hand that way you can't get anything caught up in the sprocket and give the chain a healthy coating then take a rag and wipe off the excess goo.

Answer 2: I have the stock seat on my 2000 CR250 and have never had a water issue with the seat foam after pressure washing it.

Hope this helps. Congrats on the new bike, looks sweet.

Shibby!

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I usaly put my bike on the stand, start it, and put it on first gear. I let it idle as I spray it for like 2 min with the pressure washer. once I get it home I spray some chain wax on it and it stays smooth. for the seat just wash it and spray it with armoural after.