Whats wrong with my Brute force?

neilsleder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I got a 08 Brute force 650, this summer I was 4x4ing my quad and sunk my quad in the water. It got water into the motor through the exhaust pipe then into the engine oil. So i was driving back to camp to change out the oil and it started running on one cylinder. Now i cant get it to run on both cylinders. It sit there and idles good on both but when you give it gas it bogs out. Some times it wants to run but then pops and dies back to one cylinder. It has spark on both plugs and is getting gas to both carbs, and i can see the gas going into the motor when its running. Has anyone had this happen? Is it possible for the timing chain to jump? Any thoughts or info would be great! Thanks

Summiteer

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
If you ran it with dirty water in the oil...... I don't know I'm an Electrician not a mechanic.

rzrgade

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
If you ran a Kawi v twin with water in the oil , the needle bearings on the crank are done. You will have much greater problems than running on one cylinder,down the road.....................

hdkawi

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
i would agree with rzr you can't run a brute with water in the oil need to change right a way . tear it down u might save the crank, mains are cheap

doorfx

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
^^^^x3 they don't like water... You should never run any engine with water in it. Especially the kawi motors

4byrookie

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
^^^X4, sounds like the engine is pretty much pooched. As soon as a brute is swamped you have to have it towed back or do a couple oil changes right there if you have the oil.

KWIK RACING INC.

Active VIP Member
Reaction score