W5 atv's unsafe

scoobienorth

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
well after seeing this "news" story i have decided i will not stand for this slanderous attacks on a sport that i love and here is the response i sent to ctv. i encourage all to do the same, i believe a level headed well worded barrage of emails from all of us here can make a difference. well i am trying anyway.here is the link.

CTV News | Rider Beware: Few regulations leave ATV riders at risk

first off i do feel bad that people get killed doing this. i love the outdoors and atv's. i have lots of experience in them and they can be safe if operated properly, first off the girl that was killed and the other was hurt, i doubt highly that they were on an atv designed for 2 people, most 1 passenger atv's have warnings for such unsafe behaviour. the grizzly that the guy rolled and was trapped under also had oversized tires on it which also leads to rolls, he also was doubling his grand daughter on a single passenger atv.(not a good example to publish)Atv's are a very safe activity but no matter what people make mistakes, get complacent, operate them while intoxicated and so on. guess what people do all those in cars as well. It even happens in the workplace too. and both those are heavily regulated.When kids are involved the parents to some extent have to shoulder some responsibility as they bought the atv, and allowed them to ride it. Proper saftey gear, such as proper helmets, goggles, and footwear also make a big difference in injuries.If you read and operate according to your atv's owners manual it gives you most of the knowledge you need to operate safely. Experience is also key, and proper instruction is often lacking in serious accidents. Back to the guy rolling the quad and being trapped for days, if his loaded quad was over half a ton with the gear on it, it was also over loaded, thus being heavier than the maximum weight recommended by the manufacturer, as well as being taller due to the oversized