Newby needs help with stuttering take off

07summit

Reaction score
So guys here is the deal, I'm fairly mechanical but I have absolutely zero experience working on sleds other than changing some jets. We bought a couple of cheap sleds last year and the wife and I really enjoyed having them so I picked myself up an 800 but I need to get her 1998 ZR500 (bone stock) up and running before the snow hits. During the last trip out last year it began to stutter on take off. The engine is all good but it seems like it hooks up then lags then hooks up again a few times on take off. Once I'm moving its fine. Like I said I have very little experience with sleds but I'm game to tear into the thing with a little bit of guidance on where to look. So far I've looked at the chain case (seems to have no excess play in it - but I'm not entirely sure on how I should be checking these things) and at the track which seems to be at correct tension (1-1/2" flex in the middle) and going straight. I haven't really looked at the clutch at all because I really have no idea what I'm looking at or for. Any suggestions on where I should be looking. The Artic Cat guys here say they can't even look at it for 4-6 weeks, apparently they are too busy having coffee and bugging the sales chicks. I figure it can't be too hard to fix or at least eliminate some possibilities of whats wrong.

Boostmonkey

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
You can find out how to inspect most parts of sleds on youtube.

Things i would check:

Check the belt could just be a thin spot in it. basicly make sure the wear is even.
With the clutches you’re looking for flat spots or grooves in the surface of the sheaves.
also have a look at your drivers maybe you have a tooth missing?

I am sure others will chime in on their ideas as to the problem.

Good luck and welcome.