new to snowmobiling need help

tbro47

Reaction score
HI veryone I am a newbie to snowmobiling and just bought two new 09yamahas, a nytro MTX for me and an XTX for my wife. I've never ridin a mountain sled before and took my first ride last weekend. put on over a 100 miles it was awesome. I love the four stroke power and everyone we rode with was really impressed with the new sleds. Not being used to such a long sled I of course rolled lots. it seemed my MTX was really responsive and tippy. the XTX was awesome and super stable. I know i'm not used to the long sled and am new too riding but is there anything i can do to make it more stable and easier to balance especially when side hilling? I was thinking about getting some handle bar extensions and really need a left hand throttle. the skis seem to dart alot too how much difference would it make to get different skis? should just keep it stock til I get used to riding more or try and change some things?

sledslut

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hey, on the Mtx you can take the skis and adjust the stance of them.. there are the two collers on either side of the knuckle, just remove the bolt and put the two collars on the inside of the knuckle and it will widen the ski stance. and if you are on a hard trail or have a crust on a lake the skis will dart all over the place do to the deep keel on the botom of the ski.. you could change the skis to simmons or what ever you perfer.. but alot of ppl keep going back to thestock skis. you could aslo try adjusting your limiter straps on the skid to help wiht the overall setup of the sled..

anyways hope this helps.. good luck

ride hard play safe!!

tbro47

Reaction score
thanks i'll try that. i'm thinking about a handlebar riser too i'm 6'2" how much of a riser should I get? i'm thinking 4" would be plenty.

sledslut

Active VIP Member
Reaction score