New dirtbiker

Ava

Reaction score
I'm sure this has been asked many times before but:

I'm new to dirtbiking, my fiance is very big into it.

I have only been on the bike 5 times, and had very serious accidents two of them (went over the handlebars on the road and broke my wrist at Wabamun, and was trapped under the dirtbike after sliding, ended up with severe bruising and road rash over 50% of my body at Waiporous). I have bought better protective gear, but I am still very nervous about getting back on. I am wondering if anyone knows a place with easy, dirt trails that we can go to, as well as a few harder ones for him? I am determined to learn to do this well. I live in Edmonton for the record.

sumx54

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.absoluteadventure.ca
This might sound harsh for you but you should find a local motocross track to practice on. You don't have to do any jumps just putt around and get some experiece going over obstacles and around corners, up hills and driving through ruts etc. Your hubby can take the faster approach if he likes. Most MX tracks are smooth and can be easlily negotiated at a very slow pace. My 6 year old daughter loves hitting the track in Whitecourt on her DRZ 70. Make sure you wear all the proper gear, have fun and good luck. :)

Ava

Reaction score
I don't think it's harsh at all - I ride like a 6 year old! Waiporous was a stupid idea, for my 3rd time ever!

Are there any particular tracks you recommend?

mat

Reaction score