My trailer solution

Rickles

Reaction score
Hi All,

I had posted a message requesting information on trying to find a trailer for my new sled. I'm new to Alberta and just bought a 2009 RMK 800 Shift with a 155" track. My problem was that I'm driving a Subaru and even though it's all-wheel-drive it's still a small car. The owners manual says that it has a tow weight of 2000lbs and a tongue weight of 200lbs.

So, I bought a M8000HD trailer from Home Depot. It's the 4x8 utility that has gates on the end that fold down to make it a 4x12. I only fold down the back and the sled hangs over about a foot. Total weight with sled and trailer is only around 1150lbs and the tongue weight I would guess is around 110lbs.

I was surprised, but it works perfect and it only cost around $980.00. I just thought I'd share this with you guys as it worked out great for me and my requirements. I went out for the first time today in a farmers field south of Calgary just to warm her up. It was -26, so I didn't stay long. I'm going to head to crowsnest pass next weekend for my first time of real riding. I can't wait. This is my first brand new sled and it's my first mountain sled. I've never ridden in the deep powder or mountains before so I'm looking forward to having an incredible experience. Thank you to everyone on Snowandmud that have given me advice and guidance. Merry Christmas!!!!

Cyle

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Good to hear i'm sure you'll have a lot fun :beer: I'm sure you've heard it a million times over but do you got all the avalanche gear beacon, probe, and shovel? And know how to use your beacon? Also a avalanche course is a really good idea.

Calg_Rider

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hi Rickles.