M8000 clutch changes

X-Treme

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.robinsautomotive.ca
My riding consists of probably 75% low elevation riding in Alberta and maybe 25% in the mountains, so I'm wondering if I should maybe put the low elevation kit in my 2015 M8000. Is it something I can easily do myself (clutch weights and helix), or do I need to take it to the dealer? I'm a mechanic, so tools and know how are not a problem, BUT, will I need any "special" sled/clutch specific tools to do this? Is it easy enough to do that I could quickly change it back to the 6-9000' stuff for when I DO head up higher? Looked for some write ups and youtube video's but not much out there. Never done or even seen it done, so any and all help is much appreciated.

Cat401

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
My riding consists of probably 75% low elevation riding in Alberta and maybe 25% in the mountains, so I'm wondering if I should maybe put the low elevation kit in my 2015 M8000. Is it something I can easily do myself (clutch weights and helix), or do I need to take it to the dealer? I'm a mechanic, so tools and know how are not a problem, BUT, will I need any "special" sled/clutch specific tools to do this? Is it easy enough to do that I could quickly change it back to the 6-9000' stuff for when I DO head up higher? Looked for some write ups and youtube video's but not much out there. Never done or even seen it done, so any and all help is much appreciated.

Changing the weights will give you a bit more snap....I wouldn't worry about the helix.

you need a clutch puller to get the primary off....good tool to have and something to compress the clutch spring so the weights become loose

then you need to apply heat to the weights to loosen the set screw....

overall pretty easy...maybe an hour

there was a thread on this here on s&m

Last edited:

neilsleder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Buy a set of adjustable weights. Then there is just set screws to put in or out.