How old is too old?

TakeEm406

Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Looking for a used quad for goose hunting and snow removal.
Thinking Can Am or Yamaha. But being a novice to buying one of my own km clueless.

I tried an older 09 Grizzly 700 yesterday but it had almost 8000 miles! That sure seems like a lot. But it still had some gitty up! My uncle has a couple Grizzlys so I'm kinda leaning this way.

Tested out an Arctic Cat 500 that was an 06 with 2K miles. And the thing squeaked and seemed sluggish and slow. I'm guessing the kid had been hot rodding it for the past 2000 miles.

What do I need to look for in buying used? I'm not very savy in these things. I have a basic idea of mechanics but I'm no expert.

Seems Can Am is top dog??? Can't see much bad on Yamaha either.

How about Polaris? I read a couple reviews where they were burning up in flames. But my buddy has three or four of them.

Definitely want a larger machine, preferably a two up.

What about Honda?

My uncle ran King Quads in the 90's and they kept on going. How are the newer ones?

Power steering is a must.

I was surprised that 06 Arctic Cat didn't have power steering! Deal breaker right there and the fact that it was a pile. Still wouldn't mind an Arctic, just that one was junk.

Probably looking to spend no more that $6500.

Quackhead Lanyard Prostaff

2013850xp

Reaction score