H.V.A.C Techs, Anyone want to help a guy out with his old garage furnace?

Frankenytro

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hey guys and gals,

I am having an issue with my garage furnace that I would love to have rectified but I am in a bit over my head. I am tech savvy and do own a meter and all diag equipment for automotive/heavy duty repair so I am not a total noob (you can still call me one though) lol.

What I have is an old ITT Grinnell EXCELLO shop furnace that is having a hard time running the fan long enough. I can hear the thermostat tell the burner to ignite and then the burner does ignite and start to burn which will continue for a very long time. This could be 10-15 minutes probably. During this period of time the fan will cut in periodically for approximately 15-20 seconds and then cut out while the burner continues to run. This will happen again in 3-4-5 minutes but again the burner never stops (due to the thermostat commanding for heat in my thought process) and the cycle continues until the temperature is met and the thermostat is satisfied.

There are two snap disks on the unit, one has 3 wires and has no visible temp stamp on it, the other has 4 wires (one of the 4 is piggy backed on to the first switch) and has 135*F stamped onto it.

I called in and talked to a gentleman who was older and very experienced at Sinclair Supply and he told me to come in and he would set me up with some components to install to rectify the issues. He has sold me a fixed setting snap disk fan control with 130*F close and 115*F open (P/N L36-111) as well as a fan / heat sequencer (P/N 24A34-29).

I am looking at these parts and I am at a loss as to how to install them.