Getting Over "The Fear"

Snow Bunny

Reaction score
I am new to sledding just this year, bought my very first sled in October. To give you an idea where I come from, I was born and raised in the city, never played motor type sports and most importantly never had the need to floor it or pin it, none the less up a hill covered in snow. The scariest boundary I've ever had to push was getting through post secondary school. I was a goody goody for most my life and always did things to the rule. Now with this whole new world of sledding that my fiance has introduced me too, I am noticing I have a lot of fear of the throttle and flooring it and just pushing boundaries of comfort. With all the great women sledders out there, and men, we all had to start somewhere. What I wanted to know is how were you able to get past the fear and pushing boundaries. I keep hearing throttle is your friend, but it scares the sh*t out of me. Any ideas? :eek:

polarice

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I am new to sledding just this year, bought my very first sled in October. To give you an idea where I come from, I was born and raised in the city, never played motor type sports and most importantly never had the need to floor it or pin it, none the less up a hill covered in snow. The scariest boundary I've ever had to push was getting through post secondary school. I was a goody goody for most my life and always did things to the rule. Now with this whole new world of sledding that my fiance has introduced me too, I am noticing I have a lot of fear of the throttle and flooring it and just pushing boundaries of comfort. With all the great women sledders out there, and men, we all had to start somewhere. What I wanted to know is how were you able to get past the fear and pushing boundaries. I keep hearing throttle is your friend, but it scares the sh*t out of me. Any ideas? :eek: