Gelcoating a boat

Shankster

Reaction score
Hello there everyone!! Just curious I have an older fibreglass boat and am itchin to bling it out! With this in mind does anyone know if there is anyone around red deer area that does gelcoating for older boats? I have looked in yellow pages but found nothing! So any recomendations??

lbartels

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I'm no doctor nor do I own a boat, but wouldn't canadian tire carry something like that? they have DIY bed liners for trucks. Just a thought. I'm frugal and would look into trying it myself first.

bobsledder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Marine Clinic in Calgary has a guy in Ardrie that did awsome work on my Mastercraft

Showtime

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Barry Jays in Edmonton also does gel coat, they have a rack to tilt the boat so they can work on the bottom side. It would be very expensive to completely re-shoot a boat. How bad is the finish? can it be brought back with a good cutting polish?

magnet

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Barry Jays in Edmonton also does gel coat, they have a rack to tilt the boat so they can work on the bottom side. It would be very expensive to completely re-shoot a boat. How bad is the finish? can it be brought back with a good cutting polish?

exactly what i was thinking was going to get ours fixed and that alone was worth more than the boat i couldnt imagine doing an entire boat.:eek:

sledderdoc

Super Senior Member
Reaction score
Hello there everyone!! Just curious I have an older fibreglass boat and am itchin to bling it out! With this in mind does anyone know if there is anyone around red deer area that does gelcoating for older boats? I have looked in yellow pages but found nothing! So any recomendations??

I used Mothers cutting agents and polishes. Will bring back even the most heavily oxidized hull. Easy to do with some elbow grease and a polisher.

Shankster

Reaction score