Dirt bike regulations in Alberta-looking at getting an MX bike

sideways

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I've been riding offroad trails for a few years now and am looking at getting into motocross so I plan on purchasing a Honda crf250r, which will be my first race bike. Now aside from on the track, I would also like to use this bike to do some trail riding as well.

I guess what I'm getting at is whether or not I'm gonna have an issue using a competition bike away from the track on crown land? I plan on getting the bike registered/insured so I'll have a licence plate but it doesn't have the mandatory headlight/tail light. Is this law strictly enforced in Alberta? Am I going to run into problems riding this bike on crown land?

Thanks for any responses.

Stg2Suby

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Yes the fish & wildlife cops are enforcing this now; you need a functioning head and tail light for visibility. Good thing is you can get away with battery powered bicycle type lights (or at least you could for the last couple years).

sideways

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply Stg2Suby. Is this law in effect even during broad daylight, or is it just a dawn/dusk type of thing? Seems kinda silly to need to have a light on during daylight hours...

ckmoose

Reaction score
Legally, You have to have a functioning headlight and taillight attached to your bike at all times. Their reasoning, if you have an issue close to dusk, it will put you on the trail after dark. At least that's what they told us when they were hassling a couple friends of mine two years ago.

sideways

Reaction score