Can a 2010 F150FX4 with 5.46 speed haul....

Samsung3

Reaction score
It says towing capabilty is 11,300lbs. Im new to towing but Im assuming that trailer, gear, etc cannot exceed that #?

So if a trailer weighs 8000lbs and we take 1000lbs of gear we are within out limits?

Again, veery new to hauling and weights.

Thanks

Longhorn

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.longhornenergy.ca
It depends how fast you want to tow it, how quickly and safely you want to stop, and how long you want the truck to last. Personally I would recommend a 3/4 or a 1-ton for that kind of load. As to your question, you can exceed that number all you want, but give us some more information, what kind of towing, what kind of trailer, frequency, etc.

An F150 is not a pulling truck...

OVERKILL 19

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
My 26 foot is 7400# dry, all loaded and 3/4 full of water I'm tipping the scales at just over 9000+lbs and I have no problem pulling it with my single wheel 1 ton. But I could not imagine doing it with a 150. What is your hitch weight good for? With that much trailer weight I would think you might be pegged? I too would suggest a 3/4 or 1 ton...IMO
:beer:

Stompin Tom

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
It says towing capabilty is 11,300lbs. Im new to towing but Im assuming that trailer, gear, etc cannot exceed that #?

So if a trailer weighs 8000lbs and we take 1000lbs of gear we are within out limits?

Again, veery new to hauling and weights.

Thanks

The simple answer is you can but you shouldn't.

Considering your new to towing and you would be pushing your vehicle limits to the max, your putting yourself in a position for allot of trouble.