Buying used Turbo Apex

Metalfusion

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Wondering what things to look for when purchasing a used turbo sled?

Any info would be of help. I have never owned a turbo and think I may make the jump.

maxwell

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
2 stroke of 4 stroke

either way obviously you want to know how many miles on the turbo/ how many miles on the motor. and how many miles the motor has been boosted. motors and turbos dont last forever. you also want to see if he has changed the oil in the turbo if thats the case.

if its a 2 stroke for example and has been boosted for 2000-3000km it may need a fresh top end.

4 stroke. well i dont know i have no experience with this haha. but from what ive heard alot of guys dont have to touch their boosted sleds in over 10,000km

evan3000

Reaction score
If it has a few boosted miles on it I would recomend a leak down test. If you don't know how to do it take it to a reputable shop and have them do one. also find out the history on the sled, who installed the kit, what shop if any worked on the sled. There are alot of tallented DIY garage machanics out there who can take a project on like this without blinking an eye, but that can go the other way too!!!! Have fun!!!

Stg2Suby

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
No worries Maxwell your 2stroke comment is valid for general info.

Drivetrain aside a big concern buying any used sled should be checking whether it's tumbled down the mountain and been repaired. Perhaps turbo's are more prone to spectacular tumbles, or perhaps less so as they tend to have more experienced pilots.

Check the bulkhead carefully, check the tunnel for straightness, check track alignment in the tunnel, check both ski tips are same place front/back.

Trust me as I learned a hard lesson from a seemingly honest seller.

Sledderglen

Super Moderator
Reaction score