Buying a new sled

Gsxrgrizz

Reaction score
Forgive me if this has already been posted but I tried to search several combinations of “buying a new sled” but did not find anything....

I am considering purchasing my first skidoo and was hoping some of you would be willing to help me out with not only what to look for but what I realistically need. I’ve got a lot of experience with quads, sport bikes, SXS’s and dirt bikes so I know how to respect the power, not be stupid and ride responsibly.

I’ve watched videos on looking at the ski alignment, A-arms and making sure the tunnel is straight but don’t completely understand things like what exactly a 180 track is or the difference between a mountain sled and other skidoo’s.

I was really appreciate any assistance, hints and tips you are able to lend to help me in my quest for a winter sport in Alberta!!!

catmando

Super Moderator
Reaction score
First you need to describe the type of riding your interested in .

ferniesnow

I'm doo-ing it!
Reaction score
Being from Calgary, I will assume you will be riding the mountains and if that is not your initial idea, I will bet that you will be there shortly as there isn't much for riding in and around Calgary.

A 163" track is ideal although a lot of people are having fun on the 154". The 154" crowd are great riders or else they are stuck quite a bit of the time in the mountains. The SkiDoo summits are mountain designed sleds and the Freeride is another sled that is built a little tougher for the hard riding guys. The SkiDoo's with an 800 etec motor (2012 to 2016) are and were very dependable. In 2017 BRP came out with an 850cc motor and generally speaking they have mostly been good sleds. You mentioned Skidoo in your post, so I provided some general information. As for inspecting an older sled, it would be a good idea to get a snowmobile riding buddy to help you inspect it. There are a lot of broken sleds out there for sale.

Gsxrgrizz

Reaction score