2 stoke versus 4 stroke longegivity

Alberta Boy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
No longer in Alberta... Moved to Toronto!
I had a mod 800 summit out of 4 weekends riding it only had 1 day that I didn't have an issue with it when the motor let go put it back to stock and it's run fine. I've yet to have a sled that is modded be reliable

Maybe it was the rider! lol

Hopefully my 827 will hold together... with you breaking it in over Easter, that will be the tell all! Farmer's is holding together nicely! I think that if you can still run pump gas those sleds hold together nicely

Danny- I think that you bought a lemon mod... who knows what was done to it and what backyard redneck did the mods!

CR500R

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I wish I had your luck, with 2 strokers. In the past 10 years I've owned 3 sleds, 00 RMK 800 151, 97 RMK 700 141 and the 06 Vector 162 MTN SE. I'm a mechanic by trade so my stuff gets well looked after ( you can toss the idea that a mechanic drives the worse vehicle away here ) . We ride off the beaten path all the time, way out back , so reliability is a must, hence the always maintained toys. In the 4 seasons I had my 00 RMK I was towed out 3 times with broken cranks, never got to ride a full season once while in my possession, my 97 RMK blew a crank seal the 1st season, but was able to ride it out, 2nd season I melted the mag side piston on a big pull and had to be towed out, and just last trip the cdi packed it in heading up the trail and got towed out. On the other hand, in 3 seasons the Vector has only had routine oil changes and gets a new belt each season. The reliability issue is a no brainer and thanks to the 4 stroker I've had an awesome past 3 years of riding.

Modman

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Come on an early season ride...that's when I do most of my season damage!