1st Sled: Summit 1000/ Phazer/ 800 HO / 600HO / ??

Shibby!

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
How stupid of an idea of this would it be? I understand the power of the sled and it's weight.

I've had lots of past experience riding powerful equipment and if there is anybody out there to keep a level head, it's me. I've owned two of the most powerful litre supersport bikes (at the time) and currently own an exotic litre v-twin. Never had a problem to date *knock on wood*

So in the mountains, would this equate into death, or provided you understand your riding abilities you should be alright?

In the end what I'm after is a fun, reliable sled. Not too keen on making the highmark which I know this sled is designed to do. Boondocking would be more interest to me but still the ability to hillclimb.

I've heard some problems with the earlier 05 1000's blowing engines, but there doesn't seem to be much else out there for choices. I don't like the fit and finish on Poolaris and Arctic Cats, and the Phazer's don't seem to be so great after all. The Summit 800 (although still extremely powerful) are hard to find 06's, and 05's seem overpriced because of this. 07's are not an option. I don't need a problem sled. Can't seem to find Summit 600's either.

I'm also not the biggest guy at 6'4" and 185 lbs, so it's not that I need a sled to haul me up the hill!

What other options are there? (understanding that looking at the Cat and Poo would drive me crazy).

I have no experience on sleds at ALL! I own a 250 2t dirt bike which is great fun, and I love to ride 250 4t. Would this mean I wouldn't mind a Phazer? Are they good in deep snow with the 144" that we have in Golden and Revy? Are they as capable, with a little less "extreme" power that really isn't needed, or only required to get that next bit higher then your buddies?