06 Ram 5.9 4 speed auto - good, bad or ugly?

takethebounce

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I have been putting off a new tow rig/daily driver for awhile. My '02 extra cab Chevy 6.0 has been a trust and reliable rig for almost 7 years for me. Still not over 280,000 K on it, it has never missed a beat. Idealy I would find another Chev/gm with the LBZ but a Megacab peaked my interest.

I recently saw a 06 MegaCab with moderate milage, under 150k for a decent enough price (20ish K) with the 5.9 in it. I have no experience with the 4 speed autos though. I don't want to drop a huge amount of cash into a truck. Truck payments are not my thing. I want something that is going to last another 7 years but be slightly more modern than I am driving.

This is going to be a daily driver, I am not a HP junky for my trucks, I would rather have fuel economy, I am also not a guy who can't wait to lift my trucks, I love the look of built up trucks, but again, its not for me, so it would be running stock or near stock size tires. Unloaded I can get under 15 Liters/100 km with the 6.0 gaser. I do not tow any large trailers and put the deck on the truck during winter. With the megacab I can load the truck full with the dogs and people and make for more comfortable road trips.

Off those of you who have had, or have these pre 6.7 liter auto's happy with them? I haven't ever been a dodge guy, but I can not stand the rediculous prices asked for classic duramax GM's.

tex78

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The 5.9 other than an injector Mabe are good.

The trans. Well they suck.

Last year we just about bought a mega 06.

But then with a short box and a toy hauler was just too much to set up and still might hit the cab with trailer.

Biggest things are the front ends can get bad easy fast and not cheap.

U should buy Fernies truck.

Could have got a 07 lbz 1 ton dulley loaded with extra tank , hitch , ect .. for 19000.00 all set up for towing last year.