TRA Clutch disassembly

dabensmiller

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Just been working on installing a rooster built kit in my XM. Got the secondary done with little trouble, when i got the primary popped off i've been having a heck of a time separating the sheaves. I've gave the bolt a few pretty stiff whacks with the hammer, even flipping it and smacking it on the floor with no luck. Any ideas on what else i can do?? This is my first time dealing with the Doo clutches, i left my last two stock. Thanks in advance for any help.

JMCX

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Dropping on the puller head on a concrete floor has always worked for me. You shouldn't have to drop it more than a foot.

MK4TDI

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
X3 on JMCX's post. Straight onto the concrete with nothing in between. I was beating on mine with a mini sledge last year and it wouldn't separate. Friend came up flipped it over and dropped it on the concrete from about 4". Separated right away.

Last edited:

InFeRnO

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Make sure to also replace your bushings. They wear out very quickly and will cause a wobble in your primary. Governor cup bushings are a nightmare to press in without damaging the new bushing.

neilsleder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Make sure to also replace your bushings. They wear out very quickly and will cause a wobble in your primary. Governor cup bushings are a nightmare to press in without damaging the new bushing.

The hole kit with new cup, buttons,orings, rollers and pins is around $150 why would you even bother trying to press in just a new bushing? Sliding half bushing I could see!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

InFeRnO

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The hole kit with new cup, buttons,orings, rollers and pins is around $150 why would you even bother trying to press in just a new bushing? Sliding half bushing I could see!