Snowbike questions

drew562

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Does a ktm 350 four stroke have enough guts for a snowbike kit ????

IMO a 450 is underpowered. I have rode one and I get the idea but feel they are lacking in power. You gotta remember there a huge power loss at 6500-8000 feet.

Last edited:

gregv88

Reaction score
Depends how big the rider is, which track kit you are using an where you are expecting to ride. 350 at elevation will be a long day. 450 isn't bad but depends on what kind of terrain you are looking to ride in. A few n the group are on 450's and will eventually get to where he turbo bikes are with some good riding skills.

wakeandsnow

Reaction score
Hahaha sorry. I'm just workin out what I need to but. I'm 250. Would that be too much for a short track kit on a 450?

barthasbite

Reaction score
Hahaha sorry. I'm just workin out what I need to but. I'm 250. Would that be too much for a short track kit on a 450?

I'm pretty new at this but here's my opinion. Depending on what kind of riding you want to do, I think you'll get around just fine on flat ground with the ST, but the LT would be a lot better in the steep and deep. However, on the Timbersled website they recommend a 500cc or bigger bike for the LT kit. After riding my ST in some soft spring snow I see why, the 450 bogs down a lot, and that was at only 2800ft elevation.
I see why guys are running turbos and LT kits!! Kind of want that setup for myself!

Reaction score
Depends what your buddies have. If they are all on bikes, a 350 would be fine. Keeping up with sleds on a 350 would be another story.

jrusher

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Id go 450 minimum for motor if you can.. I race a 350 sxf and it doesnt make any hp untill its at high rpm.. I put my ST kit on a yzf450 efi model it does well but you always want more like others say especially when its deep .. Im sure you 'll get around okay on the 350 but you will be bouncing it off the rev limiter alot

jrusher