need guidance...

bathtub28

Reaction score
I am new to the boosted 4 strokes and am looking to join the club but realy do not know the ups and downs . Am riding alot of boondocking and just "hotdogin" at low ele. and only do the big climbs on ocasion. Am looking at a nytro but have a choice between a MPI stage 1 supercharged kit and a MCexpr. 180 turbo kit. which is the wise choise for daily pump gas driving wich from time to time can be cranked up! (race). ? pros cons please and thanx.

JohnBoyTurbo

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Try this idea...... Get the 240 kit and only run 8-10 lbs and when you want to climb turn it up to 12lbs. You will on pump gas and just turn the key and go. Then if you ever want to go really big all you have to do is add the bigger fuel pump and flash the computer.

Nytroman

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
supercharger means race fuel, no more pit stops at 10pm at farmer joes begging for a gallon. Turbo a bit more relaxed if boost is not cranked.
I run my at 12psi, if i need to get a nice line I have 4 more psi at the crank of a knob. 3000k and still strong on pump gas

TABSTER

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
supercharger means race fuel, no more pit stops at 10pm at farmer joes begging for a gallon. Turbo a bit more relaxed if boost is not cranked.
I run my at 12psi, if i need to get a nice line I have 4 more psi at the crank of a knob. 3000k and still strong on pump gas

What he said..... Turbo.

shawnmcgr

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
"Cranking up" the MPI kit takes a bit of wrenching, swapping pulleys. The MPI kit will make more power as it will make 11psi (220hp) but you will either need to run a mix of race gas at this level or install a head shim. I'm not as familiar with the Nytro kit but on the Apex you can run at 5psi on pump gas (depending on elevation) which should put you at similar power as the MCX kit (approx. 175hp).