Which avalanche bag to choose?

joe-bert

Reaction score
Hey so theres so many different avalanche bags out there which ones to choose? i was talking to a guy today and he said the abs bags are where its at because apparently their more comfortable than say snowpulse, and that the companies are starting to go away from the snowpulse design of inflating over the shoulders and behind the head? I'm new to the back country scene and would just like some general ideas on which bags to look for. Any help is greatly appreciated.

thegeneral

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I use the ABS Freeride, it's light and doesn't hinder my movement at all. That being said I have storage in my seat and bar bag so I don't need any storage in my avy bag It does cost me $50 every year to test it to make sure it's working and the odd time when i catch the handle on a branch lol ( pilot error )

Blueriversledz-Digger

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Just remember the packs are a tool, thay need to be tested and maintained. They all have strengths and weaknesses, even the ABS has it's faults. Find a bag that works for you, they all fit different. Shop around or rent a pack next time you head out West. I wear the new Highmark 22 from Snowpulse and it doesn't restrict me in any way, and is still comfortable at the end of the day.

MATTIAC

Active VIP Member
Reaction score