Whats everyone using for beacons?

Absledder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to riding mountains (only went once last year) and borrowed gear but I'm looking at buying my own. I'm currently looking at the new BCA tracker 3 but I want to hear what everyone else is using? can any of you more experienced guys see any pros or cons to this beacon or do you have other suggestions? and while I'm at it I noticed probes come in different lengths is bigger better? and before its mentioned I'm planning to take a course this year.

neilsleder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I use the barryvox element beacon and like it! It don't come any easier to use. And in our avalanche course it had one of the best ranges. What ever beacon you buy practice using it lots!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Absledder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The only thing I wasn't sure of with the element is that the screen isn't backlit. If you guys are using them assume it can't be that big of issue but it seems like it would be hard to see in bright conditions.

togo ripper

Reaction score
My dad brother and I all use the tracker 2 very simple and easy to use look rugged just a bit bigger than the others

Wilk INStheWEST

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The only thing I wasn't sure of with the element is that the screen isn't backlit. If you guys are using them assume it can't be that big of issue but it seems like it would be hard to see in bright conditions.
It's fine. It's an LCD screen, not an iPhone. No problems seeing them in the light.

ferniesnow

I'm doo-ing it!
Reaction score
The Pulse. With regards to probes, I use mine to measure snow depth for interest sakes and many times the 240 cm isn't long enough. It will work fine for most rescues. If I have to search for a body deeper than that, it will pretty much be a recovery and not a rescue. There is also the fact that the "professional" probes (the long suckers) won't fit into your back pack.