What makes a good leader in the backcountry?

Flicka

Reaction score
Hi All...I am a bit shy so I think this is a good place to ask. I am curious about your thoughts on what characteristics make a good leader in the backcountry. My husband and I have been riding in the mountains for several years and often take turns leading. I know my way around many of the common riding areas and am a pretty competent rider (most days...). This year we will be riding with a larger group and will be splitting the group up and because my husband and I are most experienced I might lead one group and he will lead the other.

By the way, I have taken avalanche training, carry all the necessary equipment, safety gear etc. and do my best to make good and safe decisions.

So, any tips or ideas about what makes a good leader?

imdoo'n

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
if yer shy your already down on the leader rung. ya have to know your area riding inside out, be a good rider, few stucks, and be adventurous. also keep everyone safe

MATTIAC

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
We like to set up a rendezvous spot if we get separated. Somewhere everyone knows how to get to. Carrying a gps to route yourself back is handy if snow or fog cover tracks and you cant see well.

lbartels

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
i dont ride/own a sled. but when it comes to being a good leader?

i'd say be aware of the lesser skilled riders, but don't let them keep ya from opening'r up when its open.

if you see an obstacle that is going to be a hidden problem, BLOCK IT. the new people aren't going to see it

same goes for something to ride that isn't going to be too intimidating, like a jump or a drop or bowl or a drift or berm.

ride it and clear a path for the train rolling behind you.

Taminator

Active VIP Member
Reaction score